…starts with the first step.

In my first video I talk about why I am doing this and what I hope the outcome will be. Please comment.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Great Eric !!!

    Perhaps sharing my effort could help you also. Peer pressure is working. My weighting’s are shared with my peers in the Twittersphere.
    This in combination with the programm’s in house, could help you in this journey.

    Bon voyage !!

    Lucien
    @zorg20 on twitter

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jill on September 27, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Dear Chef Eric,
    I am inspired already! I am making a commitment to go on this journey with you. Good luck to us!

    Reply

    • Way to GO Jill !! The more the merrier. Think of how great we will feel next summer! Please keep me posted with how you are doing !

      Reply

      • Posted by Jill on October 1, 2010 at 7:18 pm

        Hi Chef Eric,
        Just watched your 2nd video. I am a “chronic dieter” and sometimes feel like I know enough about nutrition to be a nutritionist. But I never knew about the the double-negative impact carbs have on one’s body. Thanks for explaining that. It is an “aha moment” to be sure. I’ve had some ups and downs this week in terms of sticking to a healthy eating routine. Your 2nd video came just in time to give me a boost of confidence and inspiration to take control. Thank you!

  3. Posted by Frellie on September 28, 2010 at 3:02 am

    So inspiring! Good luck!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Melissa on September 28, 2010 at 3:15 am

    Thank you for sharing. Rooting for you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Melissa on September 28, 2010 at 3:29 am

    Hi Eric,

    I think this is a great public journey you are taking. I am a physician who is joining the Pine Lake clinic in December. I have struggled with my weight and love of food over the years. I have much weight to lose. I plan to follow your journey. I am on my own journey of weight loss. We can do it.

    Melissa

    Reply

  6. Chef Eric,

    Two months ago, I began my own journey to lose weight. I’m a father of two very young children (like you) and have similar issues. Obesity runs strong in my family. I want to end that now. I am down about 25 pounds… hope to drop another 15 pounds to be at my ideal weight. I hope you get to your ideal weight.

    Good luck to you. I will be watching your every move — online. Post frequently. The more, the merrier! 🙂

    Watching closely,
    Aaron

    My public disclaimer – I am a communications consultant for Swedish but my views here are strictly personal.

    Reply

    • I really am getting overcome with joy and excitement that of what we can achieve together. Keep the good vibes coming! I will post as often as possible and share all the insight I can from my experience. If anyone wants to share thier own success, fears, joy, frustration or even a question for the doctors at Swedish feel free to do it here!

      Reply

      • Down another couple pounds this week… started at 215 two months ago. Today’s weight 184. I had some chocolate tonight, but all was worth it… and I thought I could dig in. No worries. Back to routine tomorrow. CHEERS!

        How does it go Chef Eric?

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Aaron Blank, Leslie Seaton, Dana Lewis, Swedish , Swedish and others. Swedish said: Our head chef sets out to overcome a lifelong struggle w/weight. Follow his journey in new series Eating in Public. http://bit.ly/c6BcO3 […]

    Reply

  8. Keep your chin up Jill. The one thing I am more certain about than ever is that my story is not unique. I am not a freak as I have led myself to believe. Everyone struggles with something and many of us struggle with our weight, even seemingly ” skinny” people. We are all in this together, your well being is important to me.

    And Aaron, that is awesome news, quite an accomplishment. My starting weight was 60 lbs more than where you started. When I hit 215 I’ll be dancing. My Goal…175. OY Vey…it seems a long way away but I’m going to get there!

    Reply

  9. Thank you so much for doing this. Im subscribed and will try to follow you on this journey and god willing change my own negative habits. 🙂 Blessings to you Chef!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Shelley Eisenberg on December 14, 2010 at 2:11 am

    HI UNCLE ERIC!!!
    Dad just told me about this blog of yours so i wanted to check it out. I think what you’re doing is so great and I am so proud of you!!! 😀 I’m looking forward to watching all of your videos and hope to see you soon!!
    Good luck!
    XOXOXOXO
    -Shelley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

