The Doctor is In

I realized that I have not really been eating as frequently throughout the day as was prescribed for me to do,Instead of 6 -7 mini meals a day I’ve been eating more like 4-5 medium / mini meals. I wondered; was that impedeing my abilty to shed weight. So I asked Dr. Lindquist, here’s what he said.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jill on October 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Great post! I’d heard a lot about the importance of mini meals, but never knew about the chemical and physiological impact it has on fat storage. It’s counter-intuitive to think that letting yourself get too hungry before you eat something can actually cause your body to more readily store what you eat as fat. Yikes! My key take-aways: bring lots of healthy snacks to work, eat a high protein breakfast.

    Reply

  2. I know! It’s Crazy. If you get too hungry your body thinks of the next meal you as the last and hangs on to the fat to sustain you. Your take away is right on, that has been the key to the succes I have seen so far.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jill on October 20, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Quick question: I do try to eat a breakfast with protein and have tried the Kashi cereals that supposedly have as much protein as eggs. But all cereals (including this one) make me shakey and jittery after a couple of hours. Why is that? When I eat eggs and/or turkey sausage or cheese, I’m fine. And I don’t have this problem with oatmeal.

    Reply

    • Here is what the good Dr has to say about your jitters….

      It sounds like the person is having an episode of hypoglycemia, low blood sugar, in response to the high carb load of the cereal. The cereal may have more protein than most, but it is still mostly carb. If it’s from grain, it’s a carb. (FYI, Some people report the same thing with oatmeal as well.)

      Reply

      • Posted by Jill on November 5, 2010 at 6:29 pm

        Thanks for the information. I have been steering clear of cereal in the morning and sticking with egg whites or turkey sausage. As long as I also make sure my coffee intake doesn’t exceed 1 cup, I’m good.

  4. Posted by vegas on October 21, 2010 at 3:38 am

    DUDE! I wanted to check in your blog before I said anything….. BUT seeing you on Sunday I knew you were definitely getting results. And Kimmie said the same. Congrats on a job well done and keep at it.

    We are both with you, my brother!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

