Easy Come Easy Go

I just got finished telling you how good it felt to return Chritmas gifts because they were too big and now…WHAM! a wall. ouch.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Seana on January 19, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Hey Eric – thanks for sharing – I too am at a similar point and am trying to get over the hump. I am using an online program and app on my phone to track calories, exercise and nutrients to see how I am meeting my goals……it’s tough like you said though……a few fishy crackers throws it all outa whack! It is a very useful tool though – free and easy to use as they have a large database of foods already in the program and it syncs from iphone to desktop as well. Check it out, it makes tracking pretty easy.

    Also since you are working with the folks at Swedish what are they saying or recommending you do? I know in my case I am still trying to figure out different things to eat in variety and allowing myself to also have a few things I haven’t had for awhile as well. I am feeling incredible for the most part and trying to walk, walk, walk as much as I can. Also need to get back in the pool as I did for a lot of the summer doing water aerobics and exercise – it’s just harder in the winter as its cold and dark out. So want you to know your not alone and to keep on keeping on as you are and find some exercise you enjoy doing – variety is good so you don’t get bored.
    God luck and keep in touch – love seeing your video posts and the t.v. appearance was a bonus.

    Reply

    • What great insight and encouragment Seana..thank you. The advide form the docs is to journal for at least a few day to ake sure the calorie intake is within the appropriate amount. So I’m trying to keep track so I can be sure i’m actually on task. Also i’ve put off exersize as long as I can , that really will make the difference with continued progress.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jill on January 19, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Hi Chef Eric. Hang in there. Don’t lose sight of your accomplishment thus far. It’s a big one, pun intended.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Meg Steele on January 22, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Don’t give up, Eric! You can do this. It’s a temporary plateau, and you’ll get be on the other side soon. It’s a sign you’re on the right track, have to take it up another notch though. Go, Eric, Go!!!

    Reply

    • Thanks Meg! What great encouragment and it was me that was supposed to be there for others. The crazy thing is that when you get to this stage you already know you can do it because you have. So what is scary is the fact that in spite of your ability to be successful you start to question, will this be like all the other times, will I get only this far and even scarier will I back slide. Not a chance!! Onward and upward.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Jane on January 28, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Hi Chef Eric,

    First of all, congratulations on all you have accomplished so far – no matter how “easy” it may be SOME of the time, you are doing something incredibly difficult for humans to do – make a sustainable change. That – and you – are wonderful.

    I just now found your website and watched every video you posted. I want to thank you SO very much for being as committed to sharing your weight loss journey as you are to doing it. Because of you, I just now made a call to the Swedish Weight Loss clinic to make an appointment so I can start my own journey. For years, I have been putting off dealing with being overweight, but because in your first video you so perfectly described what I do (not eat all day and then eat non-stop from dinner to bedtime), and because you have been able to make changes, I am inspired to give weight loss a serious attempt.

    Thank you for every helpful tip about how and what and when you eat, how you deal with challenges, including the clip with your doctor, including the link to the “New Day” recipe demonstration – I watched it all!

    I have a desk job and I do NOT exercise, but to honor you, and to honor your gift of the blog and the videos, and your journey, I am going to take a 2 mile walk to the end of the street and back. I will wave hello to my new virtual buddy Eric on my walk. Then I will go to the grocery store to get Boca burgers and green beans, and make Boca Spaghetti Sauce on Green Beans for dinner tonight, with a Greek Yogurt snack and big mug of herbal tea for dessert.

    I will continue to check in with you and see how you are doing. I hope your time on the plateau is over and you are back to seeing some postive results on your journey to sustainable health.

    All the best to you, Eric, and thank you.

    ~Jane

    Reply

    • Jane , Bless You! I’m right here if you need anything. We are all pulling for you!You can do it.

      Reply

    • Posted by Seana on March 29, 2011 at 7:33 pm

      Hi Jane – How are things going? Did you start working with the folks at Swedish yet? I think it would be great to get a group of people who are using there services together and do online chats or support group. Any takers? Hope all is going well!
      Seana

      Reply

  5. Hey Chef Eric! You know what they say…when the going gets tough…the tough get going! Weight loss is a challenge on every level and you have done such a fantastic job! REALLY! I am so proud of how far you have come since we first talked about doing this.

    Right now, picture in your mind that next place you want to be…is it thinner…or just plain healthier? I’m sure it’s a little of both, but healthier is the heart beat of why Swedish Weight Loss Services does what it does every day. We help patients get their lives back.

    So…that dark cloud talker sitting on your left shoulder needs to go. Keep things fresh…maybe change up some of the things you are doing in order to get your body to come off of the plateau…eat more protein for a few days. Change a few items in your diet. Eat small, frequent meals…protein in first before anything else and let those boys of yours ride their bikes around the neighborhood while you walk briskly for 15-30 minutes. Put some music on the stereo after the kids go to sleep and dance with your wife for 20 minutes…the idea is to move.

    If you need some help, pop up to the clinic and we’ll get you some protein foods you can use and make some suggestions. Whatever you do…don’t give up on yourself!

    We say in our clinic, “Houdini could hold his breath for a long time…and maybe you can too…but eventually you have to breathe…it’s no different with food…we all have to eat and breathe to live each and everyday.”

    You’ve got this…take that important pause and reflect on just how far you have come! We’re here for you Eric…carry on!

    Morgan

    Reply

    • That’s the best part about Swedish Weight Loss Services. You are never alone ! Thanks Morgan I have to get up there for some of that Ostrich jerky I LOVE!!!

      Reply

  6. Come on up! If you have a minute…maybe we could visit? We have some opportunities coming up that I want you to help with if it works out for you 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Linda on February 8, 2011 at 2:37 am

    wow, this sounds like my story. I just found your blog. Thanks for sharing to let people know they are not alone in their struggle. I too was going up and down for the longest time. It took me two months to lose 5 pounds where before it was coming off quick and easy just like you. I changed up my exercise and a few weeks later I was back at it. Thanks again for sharing and i will continue to follow your story. Good luck in your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

